DCU Ratings and Reviews

Member reviews for Fixed-Rate Mortgages

Fixed-Rate Mortgages

A mortgage with an interest rate and monthly payments that stay the same for the entire loan term.
Overall rating:
4.005 / 5
4
 / 
5
(196 reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 196 reviews
5 stars
113
4 stars
31
3 stars
16
2 stars
12
1 star
24
160 out of 193(83%)members recommend this product.
Member questions and answers:
20 Questions | 23 Answers
Member reviews for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Review 21 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mortgage experience.

PostedJune 14, 2014
LaurieB
from Dunedin
State:Florida
Age:45-54
DCU Member for:Over 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our mortgage representative, Amy MacKenzie was superb. She helped us through the myriad details and last minute gotchas with calmness and humor. Closing was a breeze. All in all a great experience!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Early in the process things aren't going well

PostedJune 13, 2014
spackl
from Lexington
State:Kentucky
Age:45-54
DCU Member for:Haven't joined yet
I'm just beginning to work with these guys, but so far the communication has not been good. I have left messages and eventually had to call the help line to get patched through to follow up on requested information. Also, information that has supposedly been sent by email was not received.
I'll write a followup review as things progress.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These People are Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!

PostedJune 11, 2014
heffal
from Stow
State:Massachusetts
Age:45-54
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have to start at the present time: I had the opportunity to purchase a house and couldn't wait to get home to get the bank work started. After the first application was complete, everything fell into place like it was really meant to be and the personnel, Kim Stone and Kristy Vinal couldn't have been more pleasant, patient and understanding of my excitement for a large purchase. I had no idea that something like this could go so smooth and fast without any issues and I owe it all to them and Thank them Dearly.
Now I have to start at the far beginning of my experience with DCU and I hope the person involved in this sees what she has done.
Back in early 2000 I moved to MA from NY after a very ugly divorce and I was lucky to buy groceries & a credit score of at least a negative. Thank God the job I had paid my rent as part of my income. After about a year I opened a small checking account with DCU and had all I could do to keep up with the past haunting me & wanting every penny earned. I was to the point of a complete breakdown. I called every bank in the country to help me out of this roughly 20k debt including DCU. EVERY ONE OF THEM SAID THE USUAL>>>>>>>>>>>NO!!
I completely understood why but couldn't figure out how I was to catch up without at least a little bit of help. I called in sick one day and planned a phone call to DCU and a face to face visit if I had to. I applied for another personal loan and was immediately denied (AGAIN). I asked to talk to the loan officer in charge and even that took a little per-swaying and time but it did happen.
"Hello MY name is Holly Ford" is what I should have heard but as nervous as I was, all I heard was blah, blah, blah. I quickly snapped out of it and explained my situation. not sure if she knew it but I had tears in my eyes and was hoping not to fumble this up. I knew it was my last chance.
After explaining EVERYTHING to Holly, the phone went real quiet for a minute or two then I heard....... Here is what I'll do.......... If people could fly I would have been to the moon in those short words she said. Holly explained how I can get everything paid, what the loan would be and payments etc. her final words were: "If you mess this up, you’re finished in the state of MA".
Since then I have had 2 brand new cars, many credit cards to re-gain my credit score and countless loans taken and paid off. My credit score is over 750 and I still get chills every month when it's checked and all it does is go up.
I think you should kinda get the picture without me going on any further or making this a book (and that I can do) I couldn't be happier and even when I move back to NY, I will still do ALL my banking through DCU even if I have to travel to get here, and that I'm not afraid to do.
Holly Ford, I can't thank you enough for helping me get up again and not have a worry on who is going to call and harass me that day. You have a HUGE hug and a bunch of flowers coming your way!! I only apologize for this letter to have taken so long to get to you.
All the best to you and your family & Thank you very much again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stay away from their mortage product

PostedJune 4, 2014
Jabie
from Boston
State:Massachusetts
Age:35-44
DCU Member for:1 to 4 years
Member Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very poor customer service both at locations and over the phone. Not very knowledgeable staff and too slow. DCU is moving away from good customer service.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Useless service. Nobody picking up phone in what they call 24x7 house loan services

PostedApril 19, 2014
Yamujasv
from Alpharetta
State:Georgia
Age:35-44
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Got the pre-approval online but couldn't talk to anybody at DCU - nobody picks up the phone and this is for somebody who has used DCU as my primary bank for over 15 years.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Never again at DCU

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Mike H
from Hudson
State:New Hampshire
Age:55-65
DCU Member for:Over 20 years
Member Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This was the most painful experience for us. We would like a manager to contact us to discuss the many issues we have .
The lack of communication between DCU and the realtor, DCU and the closing company, DCU and us was very bad on DCU part. The issues were too many to list here.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Rates

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Sree
from Sebring
State:Florida
Age:35-44
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DCU officers are the best in offering product services.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing lack of quality feedback early in the process

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Otherwise a happy member
from Wilmington
State:Massachusetts
Age:55-65
DCU Member for:5 to 10 years
Member Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I attempted to mortgage a second-home that had some known underwriting challenges. I was clear about these issues with the branch contact, mortgage originator and mortgage processor. They seemed to focus only on my credit rating and income/debt ratio and ignored the underwriting challenges I pointed out Only when the appraiser got involved, several weeks later, did the challenges become an issue and the loan was denied. All that work and delay could have been avoided if only someone knew enough to check with the decision-makers when I said there were known issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fixed Rate Mortgage

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Go9559
from Westborough
State:Massachusetts
Age:35-44
DCU Member for:5 to 10 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phil Maiewski has provided excellent support in closing our Westborough condo. He has been diligent, accommodating throughout the mortgage process. The rate provided by DCU has been great - 10 yr fixed mortgage.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I was able to get a low interest rate

PostedOctober 6, 2013
smartyjoan
from holden
State:Massachusetts
Age:55-65
DCU Member for:Over 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The service of the DCU employees handling my mortgage was great. They were responsive, helpful and when there were a few glitches with the process on my part they were flexible.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

my worst experience with DCU

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Jackie
from Andover
State:Massachusetts
Age:55-65
DCU Member for:Over 20 years
Member Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been a member of DCU since it opened.
Rate was high even after paying a point. I went with DCU because I had always had good service. I need to correct may errors about my income and debts.
The closing was a mess. The seller was not there.
very bad
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This was the longest, most painful refinance process I have EVER heard of!

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
marianne
from Boston
State:Massachusetts
Age:55-65
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Does the processor only work 2 days a week? Five months to process a DCU to DCU refinance is unacceptable!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

DCU Best Banking Organization

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Wendy
from Auburn
State:New Hampshire
Age:45-54
DCU Member for:Over 20 years
I have been a member with DCU for over 25 years. It is by far the best banking organization I have ever used. DCU staff is always polite, professional, knowledgeable, accomodating and understanding.
I highly recommend DCU for all banking needs.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Took their Time but kept their Promise

PostedJuly 22, 2013
GuruK
from Cummings,GA
State:Georgia
Age:45-54
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had applied for a 15 yr refinance some 4 months ago and it was a back and forth affair with documents and clarifications as well as silence for quite a period of time. The low mortgage rates started to rise and I was afraid my 3 months lock in period is gonna expire and I would end with the higher loan rate. However the Loan Officer calmed my fears and said the rates will be honored as the delay was on their side. Glad to say the rate was honored and I was able to refinance my home. Thank You DCU.
On a different note - I have a 2nd mortgage with DCU and back in 2008, my home was upside down and I was having a high mortgage rate. When I tried to refi with DCU the LTV did not work out, I had thus approached a diff lender who was ready to sanction me the loan provided I get a sub-ordination from DCU. Many of my friends were in the same situation. I approached DCU with this request and had personal interaction with the mortgage team. I pleaded my case that my LTV is messed up but by getting a refinance, my payments will be less than what I am currently paying. Unlike the larger banks were it was impossible to go past the call center agents to get anything done, it was a pleasant interaction and my request was complied. The human touch convinced me to bank only with these smaller banks where decisions are made by the reality of the situation and its merit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME BANK!

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Kate
from Newport
State:New Hampshire
Age:55-65
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DCU IS TECHNOLOGICALLY AHEAD OF ITS TIME. REPS ARE ALWAYS ACCOMMODATING AND FRIENDLY. IT OFFERS THE BEST INTEREST RATES AND SERVICES. I LOVE MY BANK!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good experience with mortgage

PostedJuly 15, 2013
DTDB
from Amherst
State:New Hampshire
Age:25-34
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
smooth process for first time home buyer. I felt at ease with the support at the bank.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a huge difference working with this lender made.

PostedJune 14, 2013
Kajole1
from Haverhill
State:Massachusetts
Age:45-54
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second refi in two years because of crazy interest rates, - thanks Ben B? Anyway, there is no comparison between the first and second. DCU employees, processing, and closing are predictable and transparent, and a state of control existed for all things that the other mortgage company could not.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent service for home mortgage

PostedMay 31, 2013
arun
from Houston
State:Texas
DCU Member for:5 to 10 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The service was great right from mortgage application process to home closing. Very pleasing experience. Will definitely recommend to my friends.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Service and Easy to work with..

PostedMay 30, 2013
Anil K
from Rancho Cucamonga
State:California
Age:35-44
DCU Member for:5 to 10 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We had a great experience with our refinance with DCU..
Cassie Sterling, our Mortgage Processor, was great to work with. She kept me in the loop the entire time and answered all my questions. We could not have been more pleased with the entire transaction. It was easy and proceeded very smoothly.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy as pie....

PostedMay 13, 2013
K and S
from Hudson
State:New Hampshire
Age:45-54
DCU Member for:Over 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Within 3 weeks, we applied for a refinancing loan with cashout and closed on this loan...Simon and everyone else involved were extremely helpful... I WILL continue to use DCU for all of my financial needs !!! Thanks for a great experience on what we thought would be a painful and drawn out process !!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>