DCU Ratings and Reviews

Member reviews for Fixed-Rate Mortgages

Fixed-Rate Mortgages

A mortgage with an interest rate and monthly payments that stay the same for the entire loan term.
Overall rating:
3.989 / 5
4
 / 
5
(187 reviews) 187
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 187 reviews
5 stars
106
4 stars
31
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 star
23
152 out of 184(83%)members recommend this product.
Member questions and answers:
19 Questions | 21 Answers
Member reviews for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Review 21 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I was able to get a low interest rate

PostedOctober 6, 2013
smartyjoan
from holden
State:Massachusetts
Age:55-65
DCU Member for:Over 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The service of the DCU employees handling my mortgage was great. They were responsive, helpful and when there were a few glitches with the process on my part they were flexible.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

my worst experience with DCU

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Jackie
from Andover
State:Massachusetts
Age:55-65
DCU Member for:Over 20 years
Member Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been a member of DCU since it opened.
Rate was high even after paying a point. I went with DCU because I had always had good service. I need to correct may errors about my income and debts.
The closing was a mess. The seller was not there.
very bad
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This was the longest, most painful refinance process I have EVER heard of!

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
marianne
from Boston
State:Massachusetts
Age:55-65
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Does the processor only work 2 days a week? Five months to process a DCU to DCU refinance is unacceptable!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

DCU Best Banking Organization

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Wendy
from Auburn
State:New Hampshire
Age:45-54
DCU Member for:Over 20 years
I have been a member with DCU for over 25 years. It is by far the best banking organization I have ever used. DCU staff is always polite, professional, knowledgeable, accomodating and understanding.
I highly recommend DCU for all banking needs.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Took their Time but kept their Promise

PostedJuly 22, 2013
GuruK
from Cummings,GA
State:Georgia
Age:45-54
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had applied for a 15 yr refinance some 4 months ago and it was a back and forth affair with documents and clarifications as well as silence for quite a period of time. The low mortgage rates started to rise and I was afraid my 3 months lock in period is gonna expire and I would end with the higher loan rate. However the Loan Officer calmed my fears and said the rates will be honored as the delay was on their side. Glad to say the rate was honored and I was able to refinance my home. Thank You DCU.
On a different note - I have a 2nd mortgage with DCU and back in 2008, my home was upside down and I was having a high mortgage rate. When I tried to refi with DCU the LTV did not work out, I had thus approached a diff lender who was ready to sanction me the loan provided I get a sub-ordination from DCU. Many of my friends were in the same situation. I approached DCU with this request and had personal interaction with the mortgage team. I pleaded my case that my LTV is messed up but by getting a refinance, my payments will be less than what I am currently paying. Unlike the larger banks were it was impossible to go past the call center agents to get anything done, it was a pleasant interaction and my request was complied. The human touch convinced me to bank only with these smaller banks where decisions are made by the reality of the situation and its merit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME BANK!

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Kate
from Newport
State:New Hampshire
Age:55-65
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DCU IS TECHNOLOGICALLY AHEAD OF ITS TIME. REPS ARE ALWAYS ACCOMMODATING AND FRIENDLY. IT OFFERS THE BEST INTEREST RATES AND SERVICES. I LOVE MY BANK!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good experience with mortgage

PostedJuly 15, 2013
DTDB
from Amherst
State:New Hampshire
Age:25-34
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
smooth process for first time home buyer. I felt at ease with the support at the bank.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a huge difference working with this lender made.

PostedJune 14, 2013
Kajole1
from Haverhill
State:Massachusetts
Age:45-54
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second refi in two years because of crazy interest rates, - thanks Ben B? Anyway, there is no comparison between the first and second. DCU employees, processing, and closing are predictable and transparent, and a state of control existed for all things that the other mortgage company could not.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent service for home mortgage

PostedMay 31, 2013
arun
from Houston
State:Texas
DCU Member for:5 to 10 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The service was great right from mortgage application process to home closing. Very pleasing experience. Will definitely recommend to my friends.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Service and Easy to work with..

PostedMay 30, 2013
Anil K
from Rancho Cucamonga
State:California
Age:35-44
DCU Member for:5 to 10 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We had a great experience with our refinance with DCU..
Cassie Sterling, our Mortgage Processor, was great to work with. She kept me in the loop the entire time and answered all my questions. We could not have been more pleased with the entire transaction. It was easy and proceeded very smoothly.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy as pie....

PostedMay 13, 2013
K and S
from Hudson
State:New Hampshire
Age:45-54
DCU Member for:Over 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Within 3 weeks, we applied for a refinancing loan with cashout and closed on this loan...Simon and everyone else involved were extremely helpful... I WILL continue to use DCU for all of my financial needs !!! Thanks for a great experience on what we thought would be a painful and drawn out process !!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best in service and value for money

PostedMay 3, 2013
Ram K
from Chicago
State:Illinois
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They are very efficient and good to the customers. They are the best..
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent representatives

PostedMay 2, 2013
client
from portsmouth
State:New Hampshire
I was very pleased with the people at DCU who assisted me in obtaining a mortgage. In particular, Phil Maiewski and Kimberly Stone were terrific!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home Refinance Program is excellent

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Mike1947
from Chelmsford
State:Massachusetts
Age:Over 65
DCU Member for:Less than 1 year
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First, all the personnel we came in contact with at the Tyngsboro branch, were friendly, HELPFUL, and very courteous. Second, Kim Stone the Loan officer we met with was top-notch, very knowledgeable of her products and competitors' offers. She went into detail our options and product differences, showing us the cost and time differentials. We didn't have to make our decisions blindly. Third, Rob Tedesco has been excellent as our Service Representative, answering all questions and multiple phone calls. Some former DEC employees had recommended DCU, and they were absolutely correct. We've added a savings account and are in the process of changing over our banking account.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loan officer was excellent. Great rates

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Mike47
from Chelmsford
State:Massachusetts
Age:Over 65
DCU Member for:Less than 1 year
DCU in Tyngsboro has a very attentive staff. From setting the appointment to our meeting with Kim Stone, the mortgage loan officer, everyone was very attentive and polite, and efficient. It was a very pleasant introduction to DCU..
Kimberly Stone was unbelievably friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. She explained all of our options and carefully detailed every aspect of the loan process and issues of which we needed to be aware. It took us barely over an hour to complete the application process.
Ms. Stone was so impressive, not only did we take on a savings account, but also started a checking account as well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

this product has great convenience

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
deanne
from colorado springs
State:Colorado
Age:35-44
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the process was a bit inconvenient because there are no banks in my state and it was hard getting ahold of people
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Service from DCU Mortgage

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Mortage Dissatisfied
from Shrewsbury
State:Massachusetts
Age:35-44
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been very happy customer of DCU for 15 years. However Mortgage is one area I will advice anyone to stay away from. Pathetic service from DCU. I have applied for Pre-approval for over 3 weeks and made atleast 8 calls. It is a joke that it takes that long for such simple thing , you can pretty much forget the house you were thinking of buying due to these delays.
I would not recommend and personally I do not care any more that DCU is my banking institute for so long. I will continue getting other services except the Mortgage. People don't write reviews but I have come across several who said mortgage is one area of DCU to stay away from.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product, streamlined process

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
MJ
from Nashua
State:New Hampshire
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The mortgage application experience with Kimberly Stone was professiobnal, thorough and less stressfuul than other expeirences I've had.
I had questions and concerns about the right product/decision for me. Kimberly listened and offered information that helped me to make a decision.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding rates, superb service!

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
DCUMember99
from New Jersey
State:New Jersey
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just refinanced my loan from a "Too Big To Fail" bank. The refi process was very smooth. The mortgage processor (Simon) was superb, clearly articulated all the costs, process...no surprises. My first loan with DCU after being a member for about 14 years. Clearly exceeded my expectation.. Felt home in the entire loan approval process. Kudos!
Just hoping that you guys don't sell my loan to the big banks.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Experience As First-Time Home Buyer

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Maki
from Leominster
State:Massachusetts
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had an incredible experience thanks to the help of Sarah Baer and Simon Summers-Hodge. They simplified the process in a manner that I was able to understand things and felt confident moving forward with the purchase of my home.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>