DCU Ratings and Reviews

Member reviews for Fixed-Rate Mortgages

Fixed-Rate Mortgages

A mortgage with an interest rate and monthly payments that stay the same for the entire loan term.
Overall rating:
4.07 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(171 reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 171 reviews
5 stars
101
4 stars
29
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 star
18
142 out of 169(84%)members recommend this product.
Member questions and answers:
17 Questions | 19 Answers
Member reviews for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Review 21 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Service from DCU Mortgage

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Mortage Dissatisfied
from Shrewsbury
State:Massachusetts
Age:35-44
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been very happy customer of DCU for 15 years. However Mortgage is one area I will advice anyone to stay away from. Pathetic service from DCU. I have applied for Pre-approval for over 3 weeks and made atleast 8 calls. It is a joke that it takes that long for such simple thing , you can pretty much forget the house you were thinking of buying due to these delays.
I would not recommend and personally I do not care any more that DCU is my banking institute for so long. I will continue getting other services except the Mortgage. People don't write reviews but I have come across several who said mortgage is one area of DCU to stay away from.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product, streamlined process

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
MJ
from Nashua
State:New Hampshire
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The mortgage application experience with Kimberly Stone was professiobnal, thorough and less stressfuul than other expeirences I've had.
I had questions and concerns about the right product/decision for me. Kimberly listened and offered information that helped me to make a decision.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding rates, superb service!

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
DCUMember99
from New Jersey
State:New Jersey
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just refinanced my loan from a "Too Big To Fail" bank. The refi process was very smooth. The mortgage processor (Simon) was superb, clearly articulated all the costs, process...no surprises. My first loan with DCU after being a member for about 14 years. Clearly exceeded my expectation.. Felt home in the entire loan approval process. Kudos!
Just hoping that you guys don't sell my loan to the big banks.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Experience As First-Time Home Buyer

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Maki
from Leominster
State:Massachusetts
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had an incredible experience thanks to the help of Sarah Baer and Simon Summers-Hodge. They simplified the process in a manner that I was able to understand things and felt confident moving forward with the purchase of my home.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stellar Service and Mortgage Rate

PostedDecember 22, 2012
PatK
from Easthampton
State:Massachusetts
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought my first house and it was an incredibly stressful process BUT not because of DCU! The staff was incredibly knowledgeable, helpful, and accommodating. They stayed on top of the process so everything was done in a timely manner. Whatever I needed they got to me ASAP.
And my mortgage rate is 3.25%.
Thank you, DCU!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Loan with DCU

PostedDecember 9, 2012
georgem
from MERRIMACK
State:New Hampshire
Age:35-44
DCU Member for:5 to 10 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I went with DCU for my new mortgage for the ease of working with my bank and having the accounts all in one place. I would have preferred that the rate lock fee and some other fees were less or not charged at all. Some other banks offer this. Over all the process was good and the service was good too.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The mortgage loan process was more complicated than I expected, but in the end I am in my new home.

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Pamela2012
from Nashua
State:New Hampshire
Member Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kim S. at the Tyngsboro branch is an good person to introduce DCU's products. Her enthusiasm matched her energy!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Couldn't be happier

PostedNovember 3, 2012
lleahy
from Lexington
State:Massachusetts
Age:35-44
DCU Member for:5 to 10 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Originally we were working with a mortgage broker that nearly ruined our chances to buy our home. Caitlin Zmayefski and Sarah Baer were a blessing! I am so thankful to them for getting us back on track. Thank you sooo much!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I would not re-finance with DCU again

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Barbara
from Haverhill
State:Massachusetts
Age:55-65
DCU Member for:5 to 10 years
Member Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
* After checking rates on-line we made an appointment at the Andover DCU office. We specifically wanted the 15 year fixed no point, no closing loan. We were told there was no such product at DCU. So we tentatively agreed to the 15 year with closing costs. The next day I checked on line again and sure enough the was the 15 year NPNC loan. I called and spoke to someone else and they adjusted the mortgage.
* The home inspector sent to our house was rude and unprofessional. He began his inspection by creeping around the exterior of our neighbors house. My neighbor notcied him and came out to ask what he was doing in their yard. The inspector told him to check with us and that he was not at liberty to say what he was doing. While inspecting our house he asked about our brand new kitchen - we told him he was completly remodled 1 year ago. In his report he said the kitchen was 10 years old. He also added a picture of a third bedroom that isn't even in our house.
* Most significantly for 3 months we told DCU we wanted 2000$ back out at closing - they told us 'no problem'. At closing we got 110$
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mortgage refinance was very efficient and easy

PostedOctober 27, 2012
BobP
from Monument
State:Colorado
Age:55-65
DCU Member for:Over 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The mortgage refinance process was very straight forward and easy to execute. DCU and all member organizations kept in constant touch with status updates and clear descriptions of what was needed. All were very friendly and helpful. With our busy schedules, performing the actual closing in home was great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rates!

PostedOctober 13, 2012
sailorman
from Punta Gorda
State:Florida
Age:Over 65
DCU Member for:Over 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This transaction should be the paradigm for customer service! Exemplary communicatioin from everyone involved, with special mention to Simon Summers-Hodge.
Thanks, all..........
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Customer Service and Rates

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
TexasBuyer
from Allen
State:Texas
Age:35-44
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Refinanced my home mortgage for a very low rate. It was easy to float the rate down and closing happened at my home. Very pleased with the responsiveness and the ease. Way different experience than the first mortgage.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Service could have been faster

PostedAugust 25, 2012
peggy
from Gardner
State:Massachusetts
Age:45-54
DCU Member for:Less than 1 year
Member Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The initial process was pretty smnooth, the path to the closing was littered with delays. I felt it was a bit much to have to prove the origins of my own money. I know the original closing date was a week later, however I still feel adequate time was given to closea week early. The closing attorney was excellent. He was very professional, and did a fantastic job with the paperwork.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product & great Customer Service

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Atul
from Shrewsbury
State:Massachusetts
Age:35-44
DCU Member for:5 to 10 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We recently purchased a home. We are first time home owners & DCU was there for us at every step of the process. Right from Home buying seminar for first time home buyers to DCU Realty that helped us find our home & DCU Mortgage to finance the deal.
The overall experience was smooth & wonderful & no hassles approach really helped a lot.
Thanks to all DCU staff especially to John Mansfield -DCU Realty, Thomas Langmeyer & Michelle D Carvalho from DCU Mortgage.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

30 year fixed-rate jumbo loan mortgage - home run experience!

PostedAugust 1, 2012
LeoEtc
from Boston
State:Massachusetts
Age:35-44
DCU Member for:10 to 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We just closed on a property using a fixed-rate jumbo loan mortgage (at 4.5%) through DCU. It was a home-run experience! From the moment we were put in touch with our 'Mortgage Representative' Tom, to his team-mate Pam who seamlessly took the handoff during the week of Tom's vacation and ran with it - all the way through the experience nailing down the final details with the lender's lawyer's paralegal Anne, to the attorney Susan who conducted our closing. This was a low-stress, efficient, professional, and exemplary process. We need another loan for a small investment property now, and we of course got right back in touch with Tom to go for round 2! Way to go, DCU!
By the way, we had been working with a mortgage broker before we called DCU, and that process was a complete nightmare. The mortgage broker assured us that he worked with several different lenders, and had in mind two different lenders to provide our loan. He structured an artificially complicated 'blended' product with a fixed-rate compliant mortgage combined with a higher-interest rate home equity loan. In the end, he had only submitted our application through one lender, and that lender kept asking for more and more and more data and letters etc and finally the mortgage broker told us that he heard from Wells Fargo that our application was going to be denied. We requested, but never received, a formal decline. After a few days, we finally wised up to the fact that we wasted money and a lot of time. We also were 'looking the other way' while our 'rate shopping window' expired, because we thought that a mortgage broker would certainly have more than one lender to go through.
When you apply for a mortgage, the mortgage company has to pull your credit score, which starts a timer... there are different rules for how long the rate shopping window is, depending on the credit score company. It is anticipated that you are going to spend a couple of weeks asking different banks for rates, having credit reports pulled, etc, so multiple credit checks for the purpose of a mortgage within that rate-shopping window don't get penalized when your credit score is calculated. We were tied up with that first mortgage broker and the single lender he went through for over six weeks. Our rate-shopping window expired, and subsequently our credit scores were affected. Then we turned to DCU.
We are so glad the opportunity to purchase this home did not escape us! And the service we received during DCU's entire home mortgage process made us feel that our application was important and that we had the team's full attention to answer all of our questions and get us to - and through - closing!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent service

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Susan
from Boston
State:Massachusetts
Age:55-65
DCU Member for:Over 20 years
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DCU listened to our needs and delivered a mortgage that met both our financial and logistical needs. It is good to be back with a financial institution that takes care of its members with high service.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

From beginning to (eventual) end, this was one of the most unpleasant banking experiences we have endured

PostedJune 24, 2012
Deborah
from Boxborough
State:Massachusetts
Age:55-65
DCU Member for:Over 20 years
Member Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
First, let me note that we are charter members of DCU---customers for over three decades---and have been extremely happy with DCU's products and service. We therefore went to the Acton branch on Powdermill Road with high expectations when applying for a mortgage loan. We are selling our home in Boxborough, MA and relocating to Maine. In April, we found a house in Maine and came to DCU for a mortgage since the Boxborough house has not yet sold. We were told by the Assistant Branch Manager that we could apply for an adjustable rate loan as we were purchasing a primary residence and this loan would be paid off as soon as the Boxborough house sold. THREE WEEKS into the process, we were told that DCU now considered the Maine purchase a second home and we therfore did not qualify for an ARM. We had to apply for a 30-year fixed rate loan at a rate over 250 basis points higher than the ARM.
The underwriting process was even more frustrating. We fully appreciate that banking regulations are far more strict now. However, we were required to write two letters explaining our "reasoning" behind purchasing a primary residence in Maine when we already owned a summer cottage there. The underwriter seemingly could not understand why we were unable to occupy an unwinterized cottage year-round.
I might add that we put over 50% down on the purchase of the Maine property so the loan-to-value ratio is low.
Finally, as the closing date approached, I requested a copy of the HUD form so I could bring a bank check for the correct amount. Despite repeated requests from both my broker and me, no information was provided. Eventually DCU advised me to just bring a check for the initial estimate given a week after our application. Consequently, the check I brought to the closing was for $18,000 MORE than necessary and we spent a good 30 minutes at the closing obtaining an agreement from the title company for the refund.
This transaction has completely soured my husband and me on DCU. We will be closing our accounts. I imagine this rating will be ignored, but at least it has given me an opportunity to vent.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All services & personal was excedlente

PostedMay 31, 2012
Vilmag
from Dedham
State:Massachusetts
Age:45-54
DCU Member for:Less than 1 year
Member Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The service we chosee,we get information and very professional services. Every body was helfull.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Couldn't get a mortgage

PostedMay 29, 2012
Sad
from Arizona City
State:Arizona
Age:55-65
DCU Member for:Over 20 years
Member Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I filled out a fixed rate app online. Called after a few days, was told I had been pre-approved; began house-hunting. Found a house in AZ, so I connected with the "am I approved" department. "Check with the Approval Department, see where the process is". Didn't verify, told to call 1st dept. One of the 6+ calls transferred me to someone who sent email confirmation and gave me the name of the employee working my loan. More calls, finally got an approval emailed to me, printed it out for realtor. I couldn't get it done, neither could he. House financed thru Nova or I would have lost it. Been a customer 25+ years, very disappointing.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Fixed-Rate Mortgages
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Basically a good process with only minor glitches

PostedMay 15, 2012
Refi2012
from Westford
State:Massachusetts
Age:55-65
DCU Member for:Over 20 years
Member Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The application process was very efficient. It was clearly defined, easy to follow, and was handled with courtesy. Our options were explained clearly and allowed us to choose the best option for us. Starting the process was a joy.
When DCU passed it off to the other organizations involved, things bogged down. There was not much information about what was going on. Six weeks after the application, some of the initial documents were finally looked at, and had to be replaced because the fax copies of them were not sufficiently legible. I would think this should be done much sooner.
Once approved the closing was actually very well organized and handled exceptionally well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>